Ecrit d’invention / Anglais

Ecrire une lettre au personnage d’Alex dans le cadre de l’étude du roman Into the Wild.

Dear Alex,

At first, I was pleasantly surprised to receive a letter from you, after all this time. Then, the more I read it, the more I worried about you. What happened ? We haven’t heard from you since few months, researchs to find you were initiated by the police. Few weeks ago they found your old car, abandoned. Now, thanks to your letter, I can reassure your parents and your sister. They thought you were dead. Do you realize the pain you caused to them ? Before your departure you told me that you were uncomfortable with them, you didn’t understand their lifestyle. You rejected their way of life because you think that their life style is monotonous and banal. You refuse confort and conformity. Moreover, you were disgusted by their materialism and their superfluous expense. Why are you such a  preacher ? It’s their life Alex, not yours. They did what they thought good for you. It’s how we built a family, with landmark, stability and confort.
Remember when you told me, after your graduation that before go to Harvard law school you wanted a gap year. I was not very surprised because it’s the case of many students. Indeed, lot of students try to find themselves, something like an introspection. And according to your letter that’s what you are looking for. The evolution from childhood to adulthood is difficult for everybody. But your way of thinking is too extrem. I don’t understand why you want to turn back to your previous life, cut yourself off from society and your family. At first, I thought you will do some volunteering or something like that. Because of all the good things that life gave to you. You refuse to be defined by your family heritage but it’s wrong ! Maybe they are not prefect but they still love you. You want to be an helter skelter ? You want freedom and loneliness ? Good for you. But, please,  don’t hurt people who care about you.
Alex, we are friend since the kindergarten and it’s the first time that you disappoint me. You’ve always been stubborn and a kind of rebel. I remember when we were teenager, you told me that : «It’s only after we lost everything that we are free to do anything. Nothing last for ever. Because nothing is static, everything is evolving, everything is falling appart. My father is so narrow-minded. He had is own idea of his ‘perfect life’. I can’t stand this..». I’m not a materiaslist. I know that you are not your job, you’re not how much money you have in the bank. You are not the car you drive. You’re not the contents of your wallet. Maybe people have to break everything to make something better of themself. But I don’t want ta take the risk. I know you want to discover new landscape, but don’t give me orders, don’t be judgmental with me. Your way of thinking  isn’t perfect and people shouldn’t imitate you, despite of what you think. You’re not a mentor Alex. I hope you will realize that you’re not on the right path. Please, return home and continue your life. I look forward to hearing from you, to seeing you.

Laisser un commentaire

